Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More Specific Fields
Perhaps you're looking for a book on real estate law, or health law, information on life at a big corporate firm or what it's like to practice law in another country. Maybe you're sick of reading and learning about options within the legal system and you're curious about nonlegal professions. Never fear--This page has it all!
Note: the author of this LibGuide would like to correct the record and state that he was using hyperbolic speech and only intended to convey that this page has many works pertaining to specific career tracks.
From the Collection
The Little Book of Fashion Law by
Call Number: 1627221115
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Much has changed in the fashion industry since the end of World War II to require more highly developed legal skills and, happily, a much greater allocation to legal expense. The industry is entirely global and a surprisingly large number of members have grown into mega multi-nationals, with large in-house legal departments and brand-name law firms to match the power of their own brand names. Explore the glamour and grit of the fashion world in this fun look at the stories behind the dresses, sunglasses, perfumes, and handbags.
Call Number: F158.25 .T555 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-18
Philadelphia Lawyer M. Kelly Tillery uses wit, wisdom and history to eviscerate the high and mighty and empower the downtrodden in a collection of enlightening and entertaining essays about life, law and politics. Whether it is the legal system, the legal profession, politicians or institutions, none escape Tillery's withering and poignant barbs.
Becoming a Law Professor by
Call Number: KF272 .D46 2010
Publication Date: 2011-08-16
This book is a soup-to-nuts guide, taking aspiring legal academics from their first aspirations on a step-by-step journey through the practicalities of the Association of American Law School's hiring conference, on-campus interviews, and preparing for the first semester of teaching.
The Official Guide to Legal Specialities by
Call Number: KF297 .A758 2000
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
With this product, you'll get an inside look at what it's like to practice law in 30 major specialty areas, including appellate practice, entertainment, immigration, international, tax, and telecommunications. This book gives you the insights and expertise of top practitioners-the issues they tackle every day, the people and clients they work with, what they find rewarding about their work, and what classes or work experience you need to follow in their footsteps. Over 120 government, public interest, corporate, and private attorneys are featured. For additional career resources, visit the AttorneyJobs Web site.
Nonlegal Careers for Lawyers by
Call Number: KF297 .M862 2006
Publication Date: 2006-07-21
Great opportunities exist for law students and practicing lawyers outside the traditional practice of law. This important resource shows you when and how to choose a nonlegal career; the specialized skills legal training provides; how to plan and conduct a job search; and provides details on careers in business and industry, government and public service, associations and institutions, and entrepreneurial ventures. A resource section provides surveys and listings of nonlegal careers in several categories, and a listing of publishers and suggested readings on nonlegal careers.
Careers in Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice by
Call Number: KF299.A32 C37 2010
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
This book is an essential resource for law students and lawyers interested in a career in administrative law. In the first half of the book, a national expert describes the field, and outlines your optimal entry strategies. The second half offers individual, personalized examples of the various career paths in administrative law, and details the demands and rewards of each.
Careers in Criminal Law by
Call Number: KF299.C7 C37 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The American Bar Association Criminal Justice Section Padilla Task Force presents Padilla and beyond, the Criminal Justice Section symposium materials which include articles and reference tools for judicial, prosecutorial, and defense agencies as well as for the general public.
Landing a Federal Legal Job by
Call Number: KF299.G6 H473 2011
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
Finding Success in the US Government Job Market.
Call Number: KF299.I5 P37 2012
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
It's a "must-have" career book on finding, securing, and thriving in the fiercely competitive in-house legal market. It's a complete guide through the maze of potential job-hunting strategies, dispelling the myths about corporate life, and offering the reader an arsenal of tips, skills, and methods for creating a successful corporate career.
Careers in Health Law by
Call Number: KF299.M43 S58 2014
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
Health law is constantly changing. As the industry changes, so do the issues impacting the practice. There is no health lawyer today doing the same thing that they were doing one year ago, or even six months ago. The field is exceptionally dynamic, with clients constantly bringing new issues requiring legal advice to the fore. This environment of constant change can work to the advantage of attorneys, because it is possible to develop expertise on a certain area of health law fairly quickly since it is new to everyone. Careers in Health Law can help lawyers to reenergize, rethink, and reposition their career goals and strategy in this dynamic industry. Chapters include:
-Understanding the major forces impacting health care
-Areas of employment for health lawyers (antitrust, corporate, criminal, insurance, etc.)
-Places to work as a health lawyer (large firms, government, in-house, etc.)
-Non-legal jobs in health law (compliance, consulting, etc.)
-Essential steps for job seekers
Beyond the Big Firm by
Call Number: KF299.P8 M67 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-10
This succinct paperback will fill a major information void for students and recent graduates who are interested in a legal career outside the typical large, corporate law firm. Beyond the Big Firm offers more than 30 compelling profiles of lawyers who have chosen to follow nontraditional legal careers, in a wide range of subject areas, practice settings, and types of work. This distinctive book explores the many possibilities open to law school graduates interested in "alternative" career choices. the editors of this engaging compilation are long-time public interest lawyers; the actual authors of the profiles are primarily students who capture the personalities of the subjects in a way that is sure to resonate with the audience because they share the same questions about career choices the subjects of the profiles have been out of law school 10-15 years, they represent 18 law schools, and they work in 15 states the lawyers profiled have jobs in governments, nonprofits, and small private firms; both civil and criminal law practice are covered, including prosecutors and defense counsel some of the fields that the lawyers work in include civil rights, civil liberties, immigration, personal injury, and human rights In addition to the fascinating profiles, special features include: a special resources chapter to help students determine and follow their career choice a final chapter with mini-profiles of 3 lawyers who are not practicing law, but for whom their legal training is vital to their work short essays by current and former Stanford Law School deans Larry Kramer and Kathleen Sullivan.
How to Build a Real Estate Law Practice by
Call Number: KF299.R43 A44 2015
Publication Date: 2016-10-07
Beginning and building a real estate law practice offers many advantages: the underlying law changes relatively slowly while offering a satisfying opportunity to develop a base of steady clients and professional relationships. Written by a veteran real estate law attorney, How to Build a Real Estate Law Practice offers useful and essential guidance, whether you are in your first years of practice and are just starting to focus on real estate as a legal practice, or if you ve already started in the area. Author Dean Alterman shares pointers that you can incorporate into your daily practice as well as for your long-term business plan. Real estate law offers a broad range of specialties, some that lead to the courtroom and others more suited to a desk in an office. Whatever area of real estate law that you practice in, you ll find practice-focused advice that s tailored specifically to the needs of a real estate lawyer. Topics include: How to define your practice Law practice financials: banking and budgeting Law practice management: setting up an office, from location to equipment and staff Finding clients and networking Engagement letters How (and when) to turn down work Setting and collecting fees for your work Communicating with clients and how to best use boilerplate language and forms Doing business with clients, from referrals to conflicts between them Growing your practice and the opposite, how to transition a practice and plan for retirement.
Careers in Sports Law by
Call Number: KF299.S66 E34 2014
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
Sports are an essential part of modern American society. The lawyer has the opportunity to help athletes, coaches, leagues and teams resolve disputes in the world of sport. This book conducts a thorough, thoughtful investigation of what options may exist and what kinds of steps are needed to maximize one s chances of netting a coveted sports law job.
Careers in Tax Law by
Call Number: KF299.T3 C37 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-07
The American Bar Association Section of Taxation is pleased to announce the release of Careers in Tax Law: Perspectives on the Tax Profession and What It Holds for You. Designed for those considering or beginning a career in tax law, this informative guide presents a series of offerings autobiographies in miniature by a broad cross section of working tax professionals. Each contribution stands as a unique story of paths taken, choices made, and lessons learned. Each adds to a composite portrait of the profession and its possibilities for the next generation of tax lawyers. In essays divided thematically, over 75 tax professionals share their unique perspectives, knowledge, and experiences. Nowhere else will you find such an honest and entertaining portrayal of the tax profession and what it holds for you.
Everyday Public Relations for Lawyers by
Call Number: KF310.P63 R83 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Attorneys can no longer ignore the power of public relations and marketing. This straight forward and practical guide covers everything that seasoned, new lawyers, and law school students alike need to know about promoting themselves, their law firms and their practices. Everyday Public Relations for Lawyers provides hands-on advice on all aspects of public relations, from the dos and don'ts of media relations to controlling your message to harnessing the power of the Internet, including Web 2.0. From GoogleMaps and Craigslist, to wikis and blogging, this book has it all. Start your PR journey by walking through the strategic planning process. Learn how to establish ethical and measurable public relations goals and objectives, define how you want to be perceived, identify your key messages, and determine your target audiences. Once the basics of your plan are in place, learn how to put the media to work for you, how to plan for and manage media interviews and how to write media.
Fifty Legal Careers for Non-Lawyers by
Call Number: KF320.L4 F87 2008
Publication Date: 2008-02-05
This thorough, easy-to-use handbook helps the reader select a law career best suited to one's interests, training, and aptitude, where a law degree is not a requirement. Each of the fifty careers profiled in the book includes interviews with people currently in that job; sample responsibilities; typical education and skills necessary; and further resources to help find out more, and how to enter the field. This new book from the American Bar Association is a must-have for anyone planning their future in law.
Keeping It Civil by
Call Number: KF373.K53 A3 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
Provocative true cases that explore the intersection of our most intimate relationships and the law--and offer a window into how we define a family today. A woman seeking a divorce has no idea of the family finances--her husband doled out money only after she gave him requisition slips for her intended purchases. A lesbian couple wants to include their sperm donor in their child's life--the sperm donor is the brother of one partner, so he will be the biological father as well as the child's uncle. These are the clients who come knocking on family lawyer Margaret Klaw's door, hoping for resolution.
Picturing Corporate Practice by
Call Number: KF1414 .M582 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Picturing Corporate Practice is intended for law students interested in corporate and transactional work and for lawyers new to the practice. The book includes a brief overview of corporate practice and chapters focused on advice development, transaction planning and management, legal documents, board meetings, litigation (from a corporate perspective), SEC filings, corporate pro bono, and client service. The book features a user-friendly design, informal writing style, and over 50 diagrams, timelines, and other graphics. It includes considerable vocabulary, how-things-work information, and practical suggestions for the new lawyer. In addition, the book offers ideas for using visual approaches in dealing with problems, plans, and documents across the practice. The author is a Stanford Law School professor who practiced for many years as a senior in-house lawyer and law firm partner before joining Stanford to develop and direct its transactional clinic.
ADR Advocacy, Strategies, and Practice by
Call Number: KF2983 .A93 2011
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
Considering the large number of intellectual property cases that settle and the financial and business risks thereby avoided, specialized knowledge and experience in ADR is a must. This state-of-the-art compendium provides a single resource to the strategies, skills and practical expertise necessary to apply ADR in the simplest to most complex IP case. Intended as a practical resource for lawyers and business executives who need the understand alternative processes to litigation and how they can be used, this book offers collected wisdom from current or former jurists, neutrals, clients, professors, trial and transactional attorneys, and in-house counsel. With this wide-ranging expertise, the chapter authors consider all relevant perspectives in the ADR process: the attorney, the client, and the neutral. Following an overview of the practical uses of ADR in IP cases, authors focus on specific elements of employing ADR in the intellectual property legal arena, including issues related to drafting, early case assessment, mediation, use of a special master, mediating patent cases in the Federal Circuit s mediation program, and the strategic use of the U.S. International Trade Commission for enforcing and resolving IP disputes.
Compliance 101, Fourth Edition by
Call Number: KF3825 .T76 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Authors Debbie Troklus and Sheryl Vacca have updated Compliance 101 with changes in federal regulations, including HIPAA, HITECH, and the Omnibus Rule as well as new insights on what it takes to build an effective compliance program.
This book reviews the fundamentals in healthcare compliance, including the seven essential elements of a compliance program. It includes:
- Step-by-step instructions on setting up and maintaining a compliance program
- A chapter dedicated to HIPAA privacy and security regulations
- A glossary with compliance terms and definitions
- Sample compliance forms and policies.
This book is ideal for compliance professionals new to the field, compliance committee members, compliance liaisons, board members, and others who need a foundation in compliance principles.
The View from the First Chair: What Every Trial Lawyer Really Needs to Know by
Call Number: KF8915.Z9 G73 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
As the legal process becomes more complex and specialized – and as the need to generate firm income creates greater pressure to bill hours, settle cases, and do deals – the training of tomorrow's trial lawyers is fading in importance. In response, veteran California trial lawyer Martin Grayson has written The View From the First Chair, a detailed and insightful work into the litigation process, and the legal and psychological art of the lawsuit.
A Legal Guide to Doing Business in South America by
Call Number: KH101.B87 L44 2011
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
This new book, A Legal Guide to Doing Business in South America, discusses the legal environment of 10 major countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela.
Practicing Law in Shariah Courts by
Call Number: KTA3474 .I27 2012
Publication Date: 2013-01-16
In this practical, comprehensive handbook, Hauwa Ibrahim, who came to the international prominence as a successful lawyer and human rights advocate, shares the insights and experiences gained through many proceeding while seeking justice for clients in Shariah courts. Lawyers who practice in Shariah courts will discover essential steps for using complexities of the law and culture to successfully defend clients. Learn from one of the leading practitioners in the world, as she describe seven general strategies for representing clients in Shariah courts:
Understand the dynamic of Shariah
Pay attention to details and seek a creative approach
Focus on the law and the issues
Be firm and flexible
Play to your strength, emphasizing the letter and intent of the law
Plan a defense using both case law and Shariah principles
Think globally and act locally-use international human rights treaties and instruments to bolster local laws and national constitutions
Ibrahim has also compiled and included an invaluable resource: a Compendium of Shariah-related laws, constitution and treaties, religious authorities, case decision, and more.
Careers in International Law by
Call Number: KZ1238.U55 C37 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-23
This third edition of a best seller is an essential resource for law students and lawyers interested in a career in international law, irrespective of age, experience, nationality, residence or practice area. Each chapter is written by an attorney who has made the transition to international law. The authors detail their paths and describe what their work truly entails, including the pros and cons of their positions. Topics covered include: strategies for starting and developing an international law practice; international in-house counsel careers; international law and the public sector; developing a small firm international law practice; networking; and more.