Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"How to..." Guides
Where would Dante be without Virgil? Frodo without Gandalf? Daniel Larusso without Mr. Miyagi? There's no shame in turning to a guide to shepherd us through the wilderness of the unknown, or that which we only think we know. The subjects of these guides span across the board, to keep you on your path, whether it be through the nine circles of the Inferno or through an intimidating interview that just feels similar--a little guidance goes a long way.
From the Collection
How to Be a Gentleman Revised and Updated by
Call Number: BJ1601 .B76 1998
Publication Date: 2001-03-13
Should you take a business call on your cellular phone during a dinner date? How do you act at a funeral? What is the best way to accept a compliment? When do you say, "I'm sorry"? John Bridges answers these questions and more in a book for men that combines Emily Post and Miss Manners without being snobbish, boring, or intimidating. This book is an indispensable guide for men of all ages who aspire to become gentlemen.
What Do I Say Next? by
Call Number: BJ2121 .R63 1997
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
A professor emeritus of business at Stanford University has found only one consistently common trait among successful MBA graduates - great conversation skills. With this book, Susan Roane shows how to improve conversation skills for business.
The Bridge by
Call Number: KF282.7 .R67 2015
Publication Date: 2015-11-01
The Bridge is a blueprint for students to help in obtaining the legal internship that is best for them and using that experience to take control of their career. The Bridge is rooted in extensive research and incorporates principles from various disciplines including human resources consulting, recruitment and relationship-building, professional development, leadership training, experiential learning, behavioral, cognitive and organizational psychology, and law practice management. These principles are applied to real situations that arise during internships to provide color, context, foreshadow what to expect, and to resonate with the reader. The Bridge covers every angle, is endorsed by legal professionals of all experience levels and sectors and, perhaps most importantly, addresses the issues that apply to legal interns today. It is relevant, comprehensive and practical. Following the guidance set forth in The Bridge will optimize your students' internship experience.
Practicing Law in Small-Town America by
Call Number: KF297 .H47 2012
Publication Date: 2014-08-07
Practicing Law in Small-Town America, in three distinct and thorough parts, paints a picture of what small-town practice is like in its rich diversity, examines how local practitioners got to where they are, and details what an aspiring small-town lawyer needs to know and do in order to locate in--or relocate to--a small community. The book includes everything information on everything from Where to locate to what to do when you get there. The book also includes appendices on what's out there, a small-town due diligence checklist, best and worst places to relocate, additional information sources and a thorough bibliography, and an in-depth look at the history of one of the representative towns featured in the book, Canandaigua, New York.
The Legal Career Guide by
Call Number: KF297 .M8619 2008
Publication Date: 2009-05-16
Presents a manual that assists law students or young lawyers in making important decisions by helping them identify specific goals and evaluate opportunities as they arise, reflect on changes in personal situations that affect their aspirations, and assess various trends within the profession that impacts their chosen practice.
Nail Your Law Job Interview by
Call Number: KF297 .P74 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-20
Winner, 2009 Career Book of the Year Award in ForeWord magazine (Gold Medal)Finalist, 2009 BOYTA Awards from Foreword Book Reviews Finalist, 2010 Next Generation Indie Book Awards in career category
Nail Your Law Job Interview provides tips, examples, and substantive advice. This award-winning book is the only comprehensive interview guide for lawyers interviewing for any type of a legal job. Through real-life examples, interviews, and tips from hundreds of prominent legal professionals, judges, recruiters, and firm partners, this book reveals successful interview strategies, insider perspectives, bold moves, and unique challenges facing candidates in a difficult economy. Some topics covered in this book include: Questions to ask and what not to ask Dangerous answers and risky interviewing techniques Body language, gap-fillers, and sample list of effective questions What to wear, what to bring, and how to do your homework before the interview Lunch interview etiquette Dealing with inappropriate questions and arrogant interviewers Tips for working with a headhunter and negotiating an offer Interviewing after getting laid-off Specific advice for government, clerkship, foreign, and in-house job applicants.
The How-To Guide to Lawyering Like Lincoln Lessons, Tips, and Tales on Practicing Law and Hanging Out a Shingle by
Call Number: KF300 .D86 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Abraham Lincoln was a successful lawyer for 25 years prior to his political career. Although he never went to law school, he studied under an established lawyer as an apprentice until he obtained his certificate of good moral character. Lincoln's lack of schooling, however, was not an impediment. He had a great respect for the law, a keen client-centered business sense and a gift for storyteller. In short, he was a world-class solutionist who was a true believer in his clients and their causes. His simple approach to problem solving included a combination of diligence, organization, and attention to detail. Lincoln was a street-lawyer. One day he would represent a criminal defendant and the next he would represent a landowner or the Illinois Central railroad. He did it all and he did it small. Lincoln spent his entire legal career with only one law partner at a time. In recent years, it is indisputable that the practice of law has undergone dramatic changes. The most important and exciting change is the reemphasis of the solo practitioner. The rugged soul who would hang out a shingle against all odds is the real beneficiary of the revolution currently going on in the business of law. To be a lawyer is more about client service than ever before. If you learn to live by the very real truism of focusing on the work and the money will take care of itself, you will be a success in this most honorable profession. Abraham Lincoln called the practice of law "an honest calling." Indeed, it is.
Mike Dunn has been a practicing attorney for nearly 30 years. He was an associate professor and clinical director of the Access to Justice Clinic at Western Michigan University's Thomas M. Cooley Law School, where he currently is an adjunct professor of law teaching courses where he specializes in helping to launch new lawyers from page to practice. He is a co-host of the syndicated radio legal talk show: The Lawyer's Show based in Grand Rapids, Michigan. He maintains a busy law practice and has tried cases in state and federal court in Michigan, Wisconsin, and Illinois. He has published several legal periodicals on the Lawyer as Entrepreneur and the Teaching of Law.
Excellence in the Workplace by
Call Number: KF300 .K38 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-16
Excellence in the Workplace: Legal and Life Skills in a Nutshell provides tools and techniques for success on the job and in life to students and lawyers beginning their careers. It progresses from preparing for the first day of work, to work-life balancing. Designed for easy reading and reference by students, the chapters can also be used as teaching modules. The authors: Discuss fundamental lawyering skills such as analysis, research, writing, oral communication, and time management Introduce the characteristics of emotional intelligence, effective interpersonal relationships, models of professionalism, conflict and stress management, and generational differences Offer practical advice for building a successful career, creating a career plan, assessing a job offer, negotiating a salary, managing money, and maintaining a work-life balance The text includes student reflections about real-life situations, shared in the fo
How to Capture and Keep Clients by
Call Number: KF316.5 .H69 2015
Publication Date: 2016-04-07
In this new second edition, How To Capture and Keep Clients: Marketing Strategies for Lawyers, the best and most innovative solo and small firm lawyers give the reader their secrets, approaches, and strategies to that age-old puzzle of growing your law firm. Through this wealth of savvy advice, the reader will learn how to:
- Ask for business
- Attract and keep clients
- Partner with other lawyers
- Build a virtual law firm
- Market a specialty or boutique practice
- Market to ethnic communities
- Market in a small town
- Use technology in client development
- Create a service-centered firm
- Brand your law firm just like the big firms do
- Make marketing part of your daily practice
- Avoid ethical marketing mistakes
The book is packed with strategies on how to overcome obstacles and position the lawyer for lifelong success.
Modern Rules of Business Etiquette by
Call Number: KF319 .G47 2014
Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Good manners and proper protocol can make, or break, a promising business relationship. Now, more than ever, this expanded, and updated classic is needed in every law firm. Build better and deeper relationships, feel more confident than you ever have, no matter what the business setting. You'll find practical advice on: Working with those more senior, peers, and staff Clients and Client Development Office Events, and when you're on your own time The etiquette of changing jobs, and the Golden Rules of Etiquette, and much, much more As society seems to continue to travel down a pathway of inappropriate and uninformed behavior, those who understand and implement correct principles of behavior from this essential resource will leave their competitors in the dust and will thrive in the global marketplace of today.
How to Look Expensive by
Call Number: RA778 .L953 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-07
Why is it that celebrities always look so enviably luxe? With their flawless highlights, luminous skin, and paparazzi - ready but understatedly chic makeup, they radiate glamour and polish. Their secret weapon? An arsenal of highly paid experts working their magic behind the scenes to make them look like a million bucks. In How to Look Expensive, veteran beauty editor Andrea Pomerantz Lustig calls on these experts and the intel she's gained from more than twenty years in the industry to show you how to upgrade your look with tips, tricks, and techniques designed to bridge the gap between what you want to look like and what you can afford to look like. It's packed with beauty advice that will make you not just look but feel like a million bucks.
'There are too many beauty books on the shelves, so the bar for actually buying one is high. This one leaps it, with room to spare.' ~The Wall Street Journal
'Full of beauty tops, tricks, and artists' secrets, in How to Look Expensive veteran beauty editor Andrea Lustig helps real women determine exactly what they need to look and feel pretty powerful and make every beauty dollar they spend really count.' ~Bobbi Brown
'As a seasoned editor and beauty-industry expert, Andrea's ultimate style guide uncovers a wealth of behind-the-scenes beauty secrets that have allowed many of the world's most glamorous and stylish women to always look their absolute best. This approachable, authentic book is chock-full of tips for every woman to look beautiful and chic without breaking the bank.' ~Frédéric Fekkai
'Busy women everywhere will appreciate Andrea's sense of what works, and her expert ability to highlight the necessities for easy, glamorous beauty. This book is the perfect go-to for anyone looking to keep their beauty regimen fresh!' ~Giada De Lauentiis
'Andrea distills all the best beauty secrets you never knew you needed in this fun, witty read.' ~Tony Burch
'Perfect highlights, flawless makeup, and glowing skin were once high-maintenance, high-cost endeavors. Not anymore. Beauty insider Andrea Lusting pulls back the curtain to show us how those is the know do it better and less expensively. This book's not a deal, it's a steal!' ~Jean Chatzky, Financial Editor at NBC's Today