Career Resource Guide
Business and Entrepreneurship Law
**This career guide provides examples of opportunities for law students pursuing a career in business and entrepreneurship law. Please contact the CSO with any additional resources to supplement this compilation. Many of the employers listed below participate in On Campus Interviewing (OCI), GPALS Job Fairs, and job posting via Symplicity. Contact the CSO with any questions.
Professional Associations & Networking Organizations
· ABA Business Law Section – Membership in the ABA Business Law Section provides opportunities to attend meetings, network, present on a panel, and participate in leadership opportunities.
· Philadelphia Bar Association Business Law Section - The Business Law Section offers business lawyers numerous educational opportunities across a broad range of substantive areas as well as opportunities to network with other attorneys sharing similar professional interests.
· Pennsylvania Bar Association Business Law Section – This section, through its various task forces, plays a critical role in the enactment process for bills affecting the commercial and business entity law of the Commonwealth.
· Philly Tech Meetup -- Philly Tech Meetup convenes technologists, entrepreneurs, investors and the broader innovation community regularly to learn, share, and network. Each month, hundreds of innovators gather to see demos, launch products and meet their future co-founders, partners and funders.
Internships & Job Opportunities
· **Government Honors and Internship Handbook – This handbook contains information about all federal government honors programs (attorney honors programs and legal internships), including SEC, IRS, FTC, CFPB, and FDIC, and some state/local government opportunities. Additional federal government positions advertised in USAJOBS.gov.
o http://arizonahandbooks.com/u/drexellawcareers (See Symplicity; Password: DrexelJD).
· City of Philadelphia Law Department: Corporate & Tax Group - Includes the Tax, Regulatory Affairs, Commercial Law, Property Assessment, and Economic Development and Investments Units.
· Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) – This agency helps consumer finance markets work by providing consumers with information to understand the terms of their agreements with financial companies, by making rules more effective, by consistently and fairly enforcing those rules, and by empowering consumers to take more control over their economic lives.
· Department of Treasury, Office of General Counsel - Responsible for a wide range of activities such as advising the President on economic and financial issues, encouraging sustainable economic growth, and fostering improved governance in financial institutions.
· Federal Deposit Insurance Program (FDIC) - Preserves and promotes public confidence in the U.S. financial system by insuring deposits, examining and supervising financial institutions for safety and consumer protection, making large and complex financial institutions resolvable, and managing receiverships.
o https://www.fdic.gov/about/legalhonors/ (Legal Division Honors Program)
o https://www.fdic.gov/about/legalinterns/ (legal intern programs)
· Federal Trade Commission (FTC) – Prevents business practices that are anticompetitive, deceptive or unfair to consumers. Examples of legal opportunities:
o https://www.ftc.gov/about-ftc/bureaus-offices/bureau-competition/careers-bureau-competition/legal-internships-bureau-0 (Bureau of Competition, Legal Internships)
o https://www.ftc.gov/about-ftc/bureaus-offices/bureau-competition/careers-bureau-competition/attorney-hiring-bureau-0 (Bureau of Competition, Attorney Hiring)
o https://www.ftc.gov/about-ftc/bureaus-offices/bureau-consumer-protection/summer-law-clerk-program (Bureau of Consumer Protection – Summer Law Clerk Program)
· FINRA – Financial Industry Regulatory Authority
o http://www.finra.org/about/careers (wonderful internship opportunities for students interested in careers in financial compliance)
· Internal Revenue Service, Department of Treasury - The IRS is a bureau of the Department of the Treasury that helps America’s taxpayers understand and meet their tax responsibilities.
o https://jobs.irs.gov/careers/category/chief-counsel (see also Government Honors Handbook for Honors Attorney Program and Summer Legal Program)
· Pennsylvania Office of General Counsel – OGC represents the Governor and Commonwealth agencies including the Department of Banking and Securities, Office of the Budget, and Department of Revenue.
· Securities and Exchange Commission - The mission of the SEC is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation.
· Small Business Administration - Aids, counsels, assists and protects the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation.
o https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/OGC_Legal_Intern_Program.pdf (SBA, Office of General Counsel, Legal Intern Program)
· U.S. Department of Justice, Tax Division - Tax Division attorneys work closely with the IRS and U.S. Attorneys’ Offices to develop tax administration policies; handle civil trial and appellate litigation in federal and state courts; pursue federal grand jury investigations; and handle criminal prosecutions and appeals.
· U.S. Tax Court – A law clerk or attorney adviser to a Judge or Special Trial Judge performs legal research, digesting, drafting, and related assignments on tax cases tried before the judges.
· Large accounting firms (e.g., Deloitte) hire attorneys specializing in tax, finance, and other areas
· In-house corporate legal departments - http://jobline.acc.com/jobs/ (diversity corporate law department programs advertised on Symplicity; contact the CSO with questions).
· Law Firms – Symplicity spreadsheets; NALP Employer Directory; www.martindale.com (search by practice area and geographical location)
· Keiretsu Forum – Keiretsu Mid-Atlantic, formed in 2011 and comprised of the Philadelphia, Washington, DC Metro, Pittsburgh, and New York Chapters, is committed to being the most successful and distinguished private equity angel investment organizations in the region. http://www.keiretsuforum.com/global-chapters/philadelphia/
· Tax Law: What Tax Lawyers Do and Where Tax Lawyers Work -- See Document Library/Symplicity
· TheCorporateCounsel.net – An educational service that provides practical guidance on legal issues involving corporate and securities regulation.
· Picturing Corporate Practice by Jay A. Mitchell – CSO Lending Library
· Compliance Jobs:
o Society of Corporate Compliance and Ethics: http://www.corporatecompliance.org
o eFinancial Careers: www.efinancialcareers.com
o Association of Financial Crime Professionals Worldwide: www.acams.org
o AML Source: www.amlsource.com
o Financial Crimes Jobs: www.fincrimejobs.com
o Ethics and Compliance Officer Association (ECOA): www.theecoa.org
o National Society of Compliance Professionals: www.nscp.org
o Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA): www.sifma.org
o General Compliance Jobs: www.compliancejobs.com
o FINRA: http://www.finra.org/about/careers