Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mentoring & Advice
Socrates has been attributed as saying, "I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing." Perhaps, had he had a Kline Law school education and the selected wisdom and advice of mentors and writers imparted on him from an excellent collection, he would have known another thing or two (like how to say humble things without pretention). Just kidding!
It's important and humbling to accept one's limited knowledge and to trust and invest in the wisdom of others. The Career & Practice Collection has a variety of advice from a whole host of authors and contributors, including lawyers and businessfolk at the top of their fields. Learn about tips, tricks, tactics, and trends from experienced trailblazers and forecasters.
From the Collection
Tribe of Mentors by
Call Number: BF637.S8 F47 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-21
Tim Ferriss, the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The 4-Hour Workweek, shares the ultimate choose-your-own-adventure book--a compilation of tools, tactics, and habits from 130+ of the world's top performers. From iconic entrepreneurs to elite athletes, from artists to billionaire investors, their short profiles can help you answer life's most challenging questions, achieve extraordinary results, and transform your life. From the author: In 2017, several of my close friends died in rapid succession. It was a very hard year, as it was for many people. It was also a stark reminder that time is our scarcest, non-renewable resource. With a renewed sense of urgency, I began asking myself many questions: Were my goals my own, or simply what I thought I should want? How much of life had I missed from underplanning or overplanning? How could I be kinder to myself? How could I better say "no" to the trivial many to better say "yes" to the critical few? How could I best reassess my priorities and my purpose in this world? To find answers, I reached out to the most impressive world-class performers in the world, ranging from wunderkinds in their 20s to icons in their 70s and 80s. No stone was left unturned. This book contains their answers--practical and tactical advice from mentors who have found solutions. Whether you want to 10x your results, get unstuck, or reinvent yourself, someone else has traveled a similar path and taken notes. This book,Tribe of Mentors, includes many of the people I grew up viewing as idols or demi-gods. Less than 10% have been on my podcast (The Tim Ferriss Show, more than 200 million downloads), making this a brand-new playbook of playbooks. No matter your challenge or opportunity, something in these pages can help. Among other things, you will learn: * More than 50 morning routines--both for the early riser and those who struggle to get out of bed. * How TED curator Chris Anderson realized that the best way to get things done is to let go. * The best purchases of $100 or less (you'll never have to think about the right gift again). * How to overcome failure and bounce back towards success. * Why Humans of New York creator Brandon Stanton believes that the best art will always be the riskiest. * How to meditate and be more mindful (and not just for those that find it easy). * Why tennis champion Maria Sharapova believe that "losing makes you think in ways victories can't." * How to truly achieve work-life balance (and why most people tell you it isn't realistic). * How billionaire Facebook co-founder Dustin Moskovitz transformed the way he engages with difficult situations to reduce suffering. * Ways to thrive (and survive) the overwhelming amount of information you process every day. * How to achieve clarity on your purpose and assess your priorities. * And much more. This reference book, which I wrote for myself, has already changed my life. I certainly hope the same for you. I wish you luck as you forge your own path. All the best, Tim Ferriss
Howard's Gift by
Call Number: HD30.28 .S477 2012
Publication Date: 2013-12-17
"A timeless classic . . . This is a book of head and heart, of wisdom and emotion . . .Tuesdays with Morrie meets What Color is Your Parachute?" -Mindy Grossman, CEO of HSNi
With forty years at Harvard Business School, Howard Stevenson is renowned as an entrepreneur and business strategist, author, philanthropist, and professor. He has mentored more than ten thousand business founders, CEOs, professionals, and top business school faculty around the world. Written by his student and successful entrepreneur Eric Sinoway, Howard's Gift offers Stevenson's timeless lessons on life and career. Full of personal and professional insight, this guide presents savvy practical strategies that can be applied to professional decisions on any scale. Through warm and engaging conversations with Sinoway, Stevenson focuses not just on business success, but on deep personal satisfaction through self-defined benchmarks for development and accomplishment. Stevenson's lessons include: - Create a vision of your own legacy through a process called "business planning for life.
- "Be entrepreneurial in driving your career ahead (even if you're not an entrepreneur).
- Exploit the inflection points in your life-whether "friend," "foe," or "silent."
- Cut risk in tough career and life decisions by shining the "light of predictability" on them.
- Plan for the ripples, not just the splash from your actions and choices.
Leading the Life You Want by
Call Number: HD4904.25 .F7537 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
A Wall Street Journal Bestseller!
"For nearly thirty years, my life's work has been to help people like you find ways to bring the often warring aspects of life into greater harmony." -- Stew Friedman, from Leading the Life You Want
You're busy trying to lead a "full" life. But does it really feel full--or are you stretched too thin? Enter Stew Friedman, Wharton professor, adviser to leaders across the globe, and passionate advocate of replacing the misguided metaphor of "work/life balance" with something more realistic and sustainable. If you're seeking "balance" you'll never achieve it, argues Friedman. The idea that "work" competes with "life" ignores the more nuanced reality of our humanity--the interaction of four domains: work, home, community, and the private self. The goal is to create harmony among them instead of thinking only in terms of trade-offs. It can be done. Building on his national bestseller, Total Leadership, and on decades of research, teaching, and practice as both consultant and senior executive, Friedman identifies the critical skills for integrating work and the rest of life. He illustrates them through compelling original stories of these remarkable people:
* former Bain & Company CEO and Bridgespan co-founder Tom Tierney
* Facebook COO and bestselling author Sheryl Sandberg
* nonprofit leader and US Navy SEAL Eric Greitens
* US First Lady Michelle Obama
* soccer champion-turned-broadcaster Julie Foudy
* renowned artist Bruce Springsteen
Each of these admirable (though surely imperfect) people exemplifies a set of skills--for being real, being whole, and being innovative--that produce a sense of purpose, coherence, and optimism. Based on interviews and research, their stories paint a vivid picture of how six very different leaders use these skills to act with authenticity, integrity, and creativity--and they prove that significant public success is accomplished not at the expense of the rest of life, but as the result of meaningful engagement in all its parts. With dozens of practical exercises for strengthening these skills, curated from the latest research in organizational psychology and related fields, this book will inspire you, inform you, and instruct you on how to take realistic steps now toward leading the life you truly want.
Tomorrow's Lawyers by
Call Number: K120 .S87 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-25
Tomorrow's Lawyers predicts that we are at the beginning of a period of fundamental transformation in law: a time in which we will see greater change than we have seen in the past two centuries. Where the future of the legal service will be a world of internet-based global businesses, online document production, commoditized service, legal process outsourcing, and web based simulation practice. Legal markets will be liberalized, with new jobs for lawyers and new employers too. This book is a definitive guide to this future - for young and aspiring lawyers, and for all who want to modernize our legal and justice systems. It introduces the new legal landscape and offers practical guidance for those who intend to build careers and businesses in law. Tomorrow's Lawyers is divided into three parts. The first is an updated restatement of Richard Susskind's views on the future of legal services, as laid out in his previous bestselling works, The Future of Law , Transforming the Law, and The End of Lawyers? . He identifies key drivers of change, such as the economic downturn, and considers how these will impact on the legal marketplace. In the second part, Susskind sketches out the new legal landscape as he predicts it, including the changing role of law firms, and in-house lawyers, with virtual hearings and online dispute resolution. The third part focuses on the prospects for aspiring lawyers, predicting what new jobs and new employers there will be, and equipping prospective lawyers with penetrating questions to put to their current and future employers. This new edition has been fully updated to include an introduction to online dispute resolution, Susskind's views on the debates surrounding artificial intelligence and its role in the legal world, a new analysis of new jobs available for lawyers, and a retrospective evaluation of The Future of Law , Susskind's prediction published in 1996 about the future of legal services. This is the essential introduction to the future of law for those who want to succeed in the rapidly changing legal landscape.
Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks by
Call Number: KF297 .C54 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-21
This book contains hundreds of tips from attorneys throughout the country with the critical advice new lawyers need to ensure their success. The book provides useful, practical advice that law schools never teach. It starts with important steps graduates can take even before they begin work. With an easily readable style, Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks continues to teach new lawyers the ropes from their first day on the job. Humorous, real-life examples illustrate the lessons along with bulleted tips that provide comprehensive advice quickly.
Cracking the Code by
Call Number: KF297 .F74 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This book, written specifically for legal practices, tackles the topic of how to successfully integrate and retain the new generation entering law firms, corporate legal departments, government legal departments, and public-interest organizations. The book is also the first to assess the downturn in the economy and its impact on new lawyers and how they in turn responded to workplace practices. It identifies research that reveals this generations workplace expectations; highlights best practices from firms whose policies are retaining new attorneys; and shares practical solutions for bridging the gap between senior lawyers and new lawyers.
The New Lawyer's Survival Guide, Vol. 1 by
Call Number: KF297 .H437 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Lawyer Interrupted by
Call Number: KF297 .I47 2015
Publication Date: 2016-04-07
This book covers both the practical and ethical considerations for lawyers taking a break in service for a variety of (voluntary and involuntary) reasons, including temporary leaves of absence, taking care of family, changing careers, disciplinary actions, and retirement. The book focuses on the importance of pre-planning, addresses the considerations unique to each reason for a break, and shares stories and advice from a broad population of lawyers who have taken a break from service for each of these reasons, including: Nathan Sawaya corporate lawyer turned internationally famous Lego brick artist Jill Donovan litigator turned nationally renowned celebrity jewelry designer Laurel Bellows - Past President, American Bar Association Todd Singer former Oklahoma State Judge and litigator and currently a history teacher for an underserved community Marc Luber former entertainment lawyer and founder of the award-winning video website: JDCareersOutThere.com Amy Impellizzeri former Skadden Arps litigator turned best-selling author And more As former law partner-turned-law professor/author, Liz Brown, said in her Foreword to Lawyer Interrupted: What Lawyer Interrupted does, more than any other book to date, is collect the best advice for all stages and types of career questioning that lawyers may have and to present it in an immensely enjoyable and highly readable way. This book is innovative, practical, concrete, and substantive. The author provides extensive resources to enable readers to explore relevant situations in more detail.
Opportunity Maker by
Call Number: KF297 .K37 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-17
This book is designed to help you harness your potential for business development and empower your legal career from law school through partnership. It provides techniques for defining your personal brand, leveraging your creativity and maximizing your success. Rainmakers, PR experts, elected officials, marketing masters, in-house counsel, business executives, career advisors, associates, law students, and others who have walked in your shoes offer perspective on issues ranging from networking, mentoring and blogging to hosting your own television show, starting a charity, and getting yourself published. Each chapter addresses genuine strategies for connecting with people and establishing meaningful professional relationships.
Jagged Rocks of Wisdom by
Call Number: KF297 .L86 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
A new job is scary. A new job as an attorney is scary times two: the challenges are both substantive (as in actually knowing the law), as well as procedural (as in knowing how to act like an attorney). In this professional transition, many, many new attorneys fall by the wayside. This book is a guide to keep the new attorney on track. Written in a first- and second-person tense and filled with no-nonsense guidance from someone actually in the mentorship role in a real-world national law firm, this professional guidebook is unique among the titles available to the new attorney. While many guidebooks are filled with platitudes and generalities, there is a serious need for genuine professional guidance. That's where this focused guide steps in. This book is a companion to The Young Lawyer's Jungle Book: A Survival Guide, which started the genre. Thane Messinger, author of The Young Lawyer's Jungle Book, was so impressed he wrote a foreword for Jagged Rocks of Wisdom. These two books will make a difference--sometimes the difference--for the new attorney.
The Relevant Lawyer by
Call Number: KF297 .R45 2015
Publication Date: 2016-02-07
This groundbreaking new book collects the insights of more than 20 top authorities on the forces that are shaping a far different future for the legal profession in this nation and across the world. For lawyers, law firms, and bar and court leaders, The Relevant Lawyer is a clarion call to adapt to disruptive change sweeping the law practice landscape or be left behind. Beyond considering what the profession of law must do to remain strong, viable, and in position to define its own destiny, this book makes the case that for the legal profession to endure, lawyer professionalism must endure as well. The lawyer s commitment to public service and access to justice will be paramount in an era when many citizens are legally underserved. And preserving professional identity will be more essential than ever if new lawyers are to exercise independent judgment while dedicating themselves to the rule of law and the cause of justice, in keeping with the profession s core values. From the Foreword: The Relevant Lawyer] gathers in one volume the many and distinct voices, perspectives, and trends the legal profession must consider in order to envision its future in a coherent way. Only an unfiltered vision that confronts, rather than avoids, the profound change ahead can enable our profession to continue to define its own destiny in the face of structural upheaval while standing firmly for principles of justice. .William C. Hubbard, President, American Bar Association This book offers an extraordinary set of reflections on the legal profession and where it is heading, both in the United States and globally. With trenchant insights by leading authorities on how legal services are likely to be delivered in the years ahead, and why lawyers face a deeply transformed practice environment, this volume is a must read for everyone interested in the legal profession s future. .Andrew Perlman, Vice Chair, ABA Commission on the Future of Legal Services The Relevant Lawyer: Reimagining the Future of the Legal Profession is an ABA book developed by the Standing Committee on Professionalism, ABA Center for Professional Responsibility. Chapter topics, all with a future focus, include: The legal services revolution; lawyers response to change; alternative legal service providers; the age of legal consumer self-navigation; indie lawyering; women lawyers; diversity and inclusion; virtual law practice; large law firms; the soldier-lawyer; the shift to institutional law practice; globalization and regulation; lawyer regulatory change in the United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada; legal education (learning what lawyers need); mentoring no app for that; social media; professionalism as survival strategy; and bar associations.
The Trouble with Lawyers by
Call Number: KF297 .R485 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
By any measure, the law as a profession is in serious trouble. Americans' trust in lawyers is at a low, and many members of the profession wish they had chosen a different path. Law schools, with their endlessly rising tuitions, are churning out too many graduates for the jobs available. Yetdespite the glut of lawyers, the United States ranks 67th (tied with Uganda) of 97 countries in access to justice and affordability of legal services. The upper echelons of the legal establishment remain heavily white and male. Most problematic of all, the professional organizations that could helpremedy these concerns instead jealously protect their prerogatives, stifling necessary innovation and failing to hold practitioners accountable.Deborah Rhode's The Trouble with Lawyers is a comprehensive account of the challenges facing the American bar. She examines how the problems have affected (and originated within) law schools, firms, and governance institutions like bar associations; the impact on the justice system and access tolawyers for the poor; and the profession's underlying difficulties with diversity. She uncovers the structural problems, from the tyranny of law school rankings and billable hours to the lack of accountability and innovation built into legal governance - all of which do a disservice to lawyers,their clients, and the public.The Trouble with Lawyers is a clear call to fix a profession that has gone badly off the rails, and a source of innovative responses.
Advice for the Lawlorn by
Call Number: KF299.I5 I835 2014
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
Ann M. Israel is the indisputable "Dear Abby" of the legal profession. Advice for the Lawlorn is the first collection of her "Advice for the Lawlorn" columns that have appeared for years in the New York Law Journal and have been syndicated all around the world. It covers a myriad of topics faced by lawyers young and old, including: Why should I become/stay a lawyer? Do law school grades really matter? How soon is too soon to start looking for a new job? At what stage in my career should I hire a recruiter to help me with my job search? Does BigLaw experience really train you to become a better lawyer? Should I immediately start looking for a new position if I don't make partner? Will taking maternity leave two years after making associate sabotage my career? What do I do when I (an associate) feel I am being sexually harassed by a senior partner? In her signature upbeat an breezy style, Ann answers all of these questions and more from the perspective of more than 35 years as a legal headhunter. Advice for the Lawlorn is simply the must-have career guide for all attorneys, "wannabe" attorneys, law students, and undergraduates thinking about becoming law students because it covers from soup to nuts all aspects of looking for a job in the legal industry. The questions are written by real attorneys, associates, and law students, and the answers are composed by a woman who really has been in the thick of the legal trenches, helping people just like you along their way to a rewarding and long-lasting legal career.
Staying at Home, Staying in the Law by
Call Number: KF299.W6 T68 2008
Publication Date: 2009-03-16
Does leaving the firm mean that you have to leave the profession? Not according to Julie Tower-Pierce who offers advice on everything from devising your transition plan and redefining your success, to staying active and making money from home. Alternative full-time and part-time careers are discussed, including freelance writing, pro-bono opportunities, telework, and compressed workweek options. Includes a helpful list of resources on the subject.
What Millennial Lawyers Want by
Call Number: KF300 .B53 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-29
In What Millennial Lawyers Want: A Bridge from the Past to the Future of Law Practice, author Susan Smith Blakely expands her audience beyond young women lawyers to ALL young lawyers and those who lead them. Following the success of her three-book Best Friends at that Bar series, Ms. Blakely shifts her focus to millennial lawyers who are the future of the law profession. This book is for: Law students to understand current practices, what needs to be changed, and how to fit into an evolving profession; Law firm associates to validate their instincts about outdated law firm policies and toxic law firm cultures; and Law firm leaders to understand millennial lawyers and to make the necessary changes to law firm cultures to retain talent and lead them into the next quarter of the 21st century. Through extensive research about millennial lawyers and by millennial lawyers as well as entertaining and inspirational stories of lawyers from a generation past, Blakely makes a case that demonstrates a healthier path forward for a profession in transition--a path enriched by recapture of the values and beliefs, which successfully guided lawyers of the Greatest Generation. The message is that bad habits and toxic environments are not beyond repair if we listen to the voices of a new generation of lawyers and help them--and us--find a better way forward. You will learn: The facts about millennial lawyers; The values that millennial lawyers bring to the profession; What millennial lawyers want from law practice; The challenge for law firms to initiate change to retain and develop millennial lawyers; and Lessons from real life stories demonstrating values lost but not forgotten.
The Curmudgeon's Guide to Practicing Law by
Call Number: KF300 .H47 2006
Publication Date: 2006-07-21
This collection of essays written by The Curmudgeon, offers practical, honest and you need to know this advice for surviving and thriving in a law firm. The book covers the basics of law practice and law firm etiquette, from doing effective research and writing to dressing for success, dealing with staff and clients and building a law practice. Concise, humorous and full of valuable (albeit curmudgeonly) insight, this is a must-read for every newly minted law school graduate or new lawyer.
The Education of a Lawyer by
Call Number: KF300 .M85 2014
Publication Date: 2015-06-07
This book is a delightful read that provides invaluable advice about the practice of law. Written for aspiring and young attorneys, the book is a font of wisdom on a range of topics: legal writing, speaking, handling clients, staying current on the law, and managing all the relationships typically encountered by lawyers. Derived from the author's decades of experience as a lawyer and teacher, the book is filled with stories and telling anecdotes. Some are hilarious, some are cautionary, but nearly all contain a nugget of practical insight that readers can apply to their own practice. Decidedly original and consistently entertaining, The Education of a Lawyer will make readers laugh, think, and nod in recognition. And most importantly, it will help readers to become better lawyers.
Glass Half Full by
Call Number: KF315 .B37 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-15
The hits keep coming for the American legal profession. Law schools are churning out too many graduates, depressing wages, and constricting the hiring market. Big Law firms are crumbling, as the relentless pursuit of profits corrodes their core business model. Modern technology can now handleroutine legal tasks like drafting incorporation papers and wills, reducing the need to hire lawyers; tort reform and other regulations on litigation have had the same effect. As in all areas of today's economy, there are some big winners; the rest struggle to find work, or decide to leave the fieldaltogether, which leaves fewer options for consumers who cannot afford to pay for Big Law.It would be easy to look at these enormous challenges and see only a bleak future, but Ben Barton instead sees cause for optimism. Taking the long view, from the legal Wild West of the mid-nineteenth century to the post-lawyer bubble society of the future, he offers a close analysis of the legalmarket to predict how lawyerly creativity and entrepreneurialism can save the profession. In every seemingly negative development, there is an upside. The trend towards depressed wages and computerized legal work is good for middle class consumers who have not been able to afford a lawyer for years.The surfeit of law school students will correct itself as the law becomes a less attractive and lucrative profession. As Big Law shrinks, so will the pernicious influence of billable hours, which incentivize lawyers to spend as long as possible on every task, rather than seeking efficiency andeconomy. Lawyers will devote their time to work that is much more challenging and meaningful. None of this will happen without serious upheaval, but all of it will ultimately restore the health of the faltering profession.A unique contribution to our understanding of the legal crisis, the unconventional wisdom of Glass Half Full gives cause for hope in what appears to be a hopeless situation.
The Essential Little Book of Great Lawyering by
Call Number: KF316.5 .D87 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Jim Durham's The Essential Little Book of Great Lawyering is the legal equivalent of Strunk and White's The Elements of Style -- there should be a copy on every lawyer's desk. Lawyers know how to practice law, but few have been taught how to become great business people. Building long-standing relationships is about building trust. While your friends and family may trust you with their lives, you may not have that same level of connection with your clients; those connections will yield more work and consistent referrals.
This is not your fault. You never learned in law school that relationships are everything in building a practice, and that relationships are built not on competence, but on communication, caring and candor. Your goal should be to have your clients describe you as "the best lawyer with whom they have ever worked." This book quickly and easily explains the steps to take to make you into the greatest lawyer to your clients.
This gem is equally important to newly graduated lawyers as it is to experienced partners at mega international law firms. Everyone will benefit from Jim's practical advice and humorous stories.
Reinventing the Practice of Law by
Call Number: KF336 .R45 2014
Publication Date: 2014-12-16
This book offers an assortment of useful advice from nationally known lawyers who describe how they have begun to make our legal system more accessible to moderate income clients. These distinguished authors address the practical, ethical, and business dimensions of new ways of providing legal advice and assistance. You'll find assistance on: Unbundling Online legal services Fee-shifting statutes Co-pay clinics, and much, much more While readable by non-lawyers, great benefit can be had by lawyers who read this book and delve into its exploration of new ideas. The book is essential reading for solo and small firm lawyers, for those concerned with preparing tomorrow's lawyers for sustainable and satisfying careers, and law firms that help everyday people deal with the legal problems of everyday life.