Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legal publishers offer their own series, and sometime multiple series, of aids to supplement classroom education. The most recent volumes are available in the LRC reserves and can be checked out for a limited time of in-library use. Older editions can be found in the stacks and can be checked out for longer periods and can be taken out of the library.
Subject Overview Guides
Chirelstein's Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts, 7th (Concepts and Insights Series) by
Call Number: KF801.C44 2013 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2013-06-03
Recommended in more than 100 schools, the updated seventh edition of Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts is a readable primer that offers first-year law students a reliable overview of the major themes and leading cases in the field of the law of contracts. This contracts primer is straightforward and uncluttered, covering the main themes of the first-year contracts course, together with related cases.
Examples and Explanations for Contracts by
Call Number: KF801.B58 2017 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Contract Law by
Call Number: KF801.Z9 K455 2011 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2010-12-16
With dynamic learning features and visual aids, the Inside Series helps you make the most of your study time, throughout the semester and as you prepare for the final. Unlike heavily abridged treatises, the Inside Series is carefully written in a concise, straightforward style that clearly identifies the essential components of the law and how they fit together. You can quickly learn what is important and why. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you how each relates to the larger legal framework. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars give fascinating additional detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more. The graphic design supports your visual learning, and features such as bolded key terms, summaries, and Connections help reinforce your understanding while giving you ample opportunity for self-review. Surprisingly concise, visually compelling, the Inside Series is extremely useful throughout the semester to help you identify the essential components of the law and how they fit together. Comprehensive coverage of the essential topics emphasizes what you need to know and why. Clear, straightforward, informal writing explains every topic for you without over-simplifying the concepts. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you why each matters and how it fits into the larger framework of the law. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars enrich the text with fascinating detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more. Bolded key terms, Connections and summaries reinforce your understanding and give you ample opportunity for self-review. The overall graphical design of the series supports your visual learning.
Mastering Contract Law by
Call Number: KF801.R87 2011 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Mastering Contract Law explores the basic principles and purposes of contract law, including a discussion of background principles and traditions of private ordering. The book explains contract formation, interpretation, and the requirement of written evidence for enforcement of certain types of promises. It explores the themes and doctrines of reliance, restitution, and the importance of public policy in contract law. Chapters include all of the areas of contract law typically covered in the first-year course, including the bargained-for exchange, unenforceable contracts, performance and breach, obstacles to performance, modification, pre-contractual obligation, remedies and damages, and stakeholders other than contracting parties, including the third-party beneficiary doctrine, delegation and assignment. The organization of the book reflects the five sequential questions that frame the thought processes of lawyers and judges dealing with contracts issues. For example, before considering whether a party s conduct amounts to a breach, a judge would answer the question whether the parties had indeed formed a contract. In addition to explaining the major cases traditionally covered in contracts classes, the authors present common-sense examples and hypotheticals in order to link student intuitions about fairness and competition to the law of contracting.
Principles of Contract Law by
Call Number: KF801.H548 2014 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2018-10-31
This overview of contract law explains concepts clearly and concisely, in an informal, often humorous style that has made it popular with students over the years. For ease of reading and understanding, the book refrains from including complex textual footnotes. Instead, the footnotes cite cases, with most including short quotations to substantiate assertions made in the text. The book also contains numerous examples and illustrations. Cross references enable readers to review concepts that constitute building blocks for the current material.
Understanding Contracts by
Call Number: KF801.Z9 F46 2018 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2018-05-23
Lexis' Understanding series. Older editions available in stacks.
Books offering a general overview or outline of contract law topics.
Sample Questions and Answers
Glannon Guide to Contracts by
Call Number: KF801.Z9 S49 2013 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
This student-friendly study guide offers a clear, concise and complete explanation of contract law through skillful use of multiple-choice questions. Addressing all topics covered in standard first-year contract courses, it provides an expository review of key points of law and illustrative scenarios, followed by probing multiple-choice questions. All possible answers are deconstructed through careful explanation and analysis, leading the student through the logic of why the correct answer was correct and, importantly, why the others were not. Important test-taking techniques and tactics receive thorough coverage throughout the text, making The Glannon Guide to Contracts an invaluable aid for first-year students trying to navigate the complexities of contract law. Distinguishing features of The Glannon Guide to Contracts: Highly accessible, user-friendly style that immediately engages students. Comprehensive coverage of all first-year law contract course material. A thorough, expository review of the key points of law precede all questions and prepares students to answer and learn from the multiple choice questions it incorporates. Skillfully crafted multiple-choice questions are challenging but wholly answerable by one who has mastered the preceding text All answers are deconstructed through clear, elaborate analyses showing why the right answer is right and the wrong answers are wrong. Provides tactics and strategies for converting substantive mastery to correct answers on multiple-choice questions. Invaluable exam-taking tactics and techniques set forth at various strategic points within the text. Flexible approach is equally useful to all students, whether their professors administer multiple-choice exams, essay exams, or both. Each chapter concludes with a "Closer," - a particularly challenging question that encourages students to push their mastery of the topic to a more sophisticated level. "Closing Closers" appear in the book's final chapter, cumulatively addressing all concepts covered in the text
Siegel's Contracts by
Call Number: KF801.Z9 S47 2012 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
The Siegel's Series works through key topics in a Q&A format, providing an additional source for self-quizzing. A proven resource for high performance, each title in this exam-prep series contains multiple-choice questions and answers, as well as essay questions with model answers. Siegel's Series Features: All titles newly revised and updated Multiple-choice questions with model answers Essay questions with model answers Available for all major subjects and electives Great for exam prep
Sum and Substance Audio on Contracts by
Call Number: KF801.Z9 W52 2007 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2008-03-25
Convenient and effective Sum and Substance audio lecture presents the essentials of contract law in a clear, succinct, time-saving format. Sections discuss: offer and acceptance, consideration, definition, sufficiency, adequacy, forbearance, past consideration, preexisting-duty rule, payment-in-full checks, promissory estoppel, statute of frauds, parole evidence rule, mistake, fraud, duress, undue influence, illegality, incapacity, unconscionability, impossibility, conditions and promises, anticipatory repudiation, third-party beneficiaries, assignment and delegation, and remedies.