Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contract law benefits from a wide range of literature that provide either general explanations of its tenets or in depth treatment of its minutia.
These sources offer encyclopedic coverage of contract law and are recognized as standards of the field.
Corbin on Contracts
Sixteen volumes in length, this is purported to be one of the most influential works in U.S. contract law today.
Farnsworth on Contracts
A classic and one of the more engaging contract law treatises, though with three volumes, it does not offer as comprehensive coverage as others available.
Williston on Contracts
Exhaustive examination of contract law, covering the area's historical underpinnings to its modern usage.
Single volume books on contracts, often giving more general coverage for law students, practitioners and even laypeople.
Contract Law for the Twenty-First Century Lawyer by
Call Number: KF801 .M87 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-14
This book answers practitioners' need for a reference that combines a thorough analysis of the law with advice for resolving everyday drafting and litigation issues. Author John E. Murray has reviewed thousands of cases in his role as author of the supplements of Corbin on Contracts. From this experience, he has developed a book that examines the law governing contracts--including case law, Restatement (Second) of Contracts, Article 2 of the UCC, CISG, UETA, and E-SIGN--as well as practical issues of contract formation, drafting to avoid future controversy, interpretation, the parol evidence rule, modification, material breach, substantial performance, remedies, assignments and third-party beneficiaries, maintaining control, and getting the best result for your client. Plus, the third edition introduces a new chapter, Contract Drafting Land Mines, which outlines common problematic drafting issues and explains pragmatic solutions. Book includes searchable CD-ROM.
Contract Remedies in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF836.Z9 F75 1981 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Expert author presents a comprehensive treatment of contract remedies. Subjects include common law and equitable remedies for breach of contract such as expectation and reliance damages, restitution, and specific performance. Discusses contracts for the sale of goods, as well as buyers' and sellers' remedies under Article 2 of the UCC. Also examines contractual control over remedies and remedies for mistake and unconscionability.
Call Number: KF801.P47 2014 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2014-08-21
The author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subject of separate chapters.
Contracts in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF801.Z9 R62 2017 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
This Nutshell provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. It contains expert explanations of contract concepts under both the common law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. It also includes the basics of the Law of Restitution and an introduction to digital contracting.
Elements of Contract Interpretation by
Call Number: KF801 .B875 2008
This book presents three theories of contract interpretation, which allow courts to recognize different sets of interpretive elements. The author has provided a comprehensive account of these theories while also identifying twenty three elements of contract law that are the sources of evidence that courts recognize when interpreting contracts. The first book to focus on these distinct elements while linking them to the nuts and bolts of contract theory, the author organizes and clarifies contract theory for both the benefit of practitioners and scholars alike.
Murray on Contracts by
Call Number: KF801 .M87 2011 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Older editions in stacks.
Principles of Contract Law by
Call Number: KF801.H548 2014 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2018-10-31
This overview of contract law explains concepts clearly and concisely, in an informal, often humorous style that has made it popular with students over the years. For ease of reading and understanding, the book refrains from including complex textual footnotes. Instead, the footnotes cite cases, with most including short quotations to substantiate assertions made in the text. The book also contains numerous examples and illustrations. Cross references enable readers to review concepts that constitute building blocks for the current material.
Calamari and Perillo's Hornbook on Contracts by
Call Number: KF801.C26 2009 (Law Reserves)
Publication Date: 2009-06-10
The expert author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subject of separate chapters.
Restatement of Contracts
Compilation of "black letter law" for contracts as determined by recognized experts in practice, academe and the judiciary.
Contract Law Blog
Blog on contracts with lead editor Professor Myanna Dellinger from the University of South Dakota School of Law.