Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the tabs at the top of the page or the links below to navigate through this guide.
Legal Encyclopedias and Form Books
Encyclopedia of the Fourth Amendment by
Call Number: KF9630.A68 E53 2013
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
Covering the key concepts, events, laws and legal doctrines, court decisions, and litigators and litigants, this new reference on the law of search and seizure--in the physical as well as the online world--provides a unique overview for individuals seeking to understand the Fourth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. More than 900 A to Z entries cover the key issues that surround this essential component of the Bill of Rights and the linchpin of a right to privacy.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice by
Publication Date: 2001-10-15
An interdisciplinary source that addresses not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics. Entries vary widely from abortion to rape and from family violence to wiretapping, offering a mirror of issues dominating today's headlines. This edition is a complete update and revision of the previous edition that includes new essays on topics such as stalking, hate crimes, and HIV.
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime by
Publication Date: 2013-07-11
Since the first edition of the Encyclopedia of White Collar and Corporate Crime was produced in 2004, the number and severity of these crimes have risen to the level of calamity, so much so that many experts attribute the near-Depression of 2008 to white-collar malfeasance, namely crimes of greed and excess by bankers and financial institutions. Whether the perpetrators were prosecuted or not, white-collar and corporate crime came near to collapsing the U.S. economy. In the 7 years since the first edition was produced we have also seen the largest Ponzi scheme in history (Maddoff), an ecological disaster caused by British Petroleum and its subcontractors (Gulf Oil Spill), and U.S. Defense Department contractors operating like vigilantes in Iraq (Blackwater). White-collar criminals have been busy, and the Second Edition of this encyclopedia captures what has been going on in the news and behind the scenes with new articles and updates to past articles.
Study Aids, Treatises, and Hornbooks
Loewy's Criminal Law in a Nutshell, 5th by
Call Number: KF9219.85 .L63 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-28
This guide helps you gain an overview of and develop perspective on the area of criminal law. It is organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality. It also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.
Understanding Criminal Law by
Call Number: KF9219 .D74 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-01
This comprehensive and clearly written Understanding treatise is frequently cited by scholars and courts in their analysis of substantive criminal law, and has been a popular source of assistance to criminal law students for the past quarter century. Understanding Criminal Law is designed to be taught in conjunction with any casebook. The topics covered are those most often raised in criminal law casebooks, and coverage of these subjects is meant to complement professors' classroom discussions. The text focuses on the basic elements of, and defenses to, all crimes; provides in-depth coverage of such crimes as homicide, rape, and theft; and covers other important topics covered in the Criminal Law course, such as accomplice and inchoate liability. Understanding Criminal Law also covers theories of punishment, sources of the criminal law, and overarching principles such as legality and proportionality. The common law is emphasized with extensive comparisons to the Model Penal Code and modern statutes. This edition offers the most significant updating ever, including coverage of quickly-changing legal areas, such as sexual assault and self-defense law. Recent and ongoing revisions to the Model Penal Code are also covered.
Understanding Capital Punishment Law by
Call Number: KF9227.C2 C36 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
The primary emphasis of Understanding Capital Punishment Law is an explanation of the constitutional law that governs death penalty proceedings in the United States. As of 2017, the death penalty remains an option in 31 states and under federal and military law. The cruel and unusual punishment language of the Eighth Amendment has largely defined both the substance and procedures in capital cases. In this book, the parameters of death penalty cases are examined, and established principles as well as unresolved issues are analyzed. In the few years since the third edition, significant changes have occurred in death penalty law, procedure, and practice. The fourth edition presents the most up-to-date information and trends in death penalty law. Students, practitioners, judges, activists, and others interested in the complexities of capital punishment law will benefit from the explanations and commentary this book presents.
Advanced Criminal Procedure in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF9619.3 .C36 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-19
Designed for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. Ideal reference for students and practitioners.
Criminal Procedure by
Call Number: KF9619 .L34 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-12
This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Criminal Law by
Call Number: KF9219 .L38 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-30
Major emphasis is placed on the basic premises of criminal law, including its sources and general limitations. This Hornbook provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes, accomplice, and liability. Attention is also given to subjects such as causation, insanity, and conspiracy.
Abstract services (such as the ones listed below) provide access to summaries of papers and journal articles, allowing readers to quickly sift through large amounts of scholarly material to determine quickly if a paper is useful for their research. Abstract services sometimes house unpublished articles and papers, thereby giving researchers a headstart on the latest studies and research trends.