Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United Nations: Finding documents

This research guide provides an introduction to UN research, with an emphasis on electronic sources.

Guide Contents

Use the tabs at the top of the page or the links below to navigate through this guide.

Library Chat

Ask a librarian

Finding documents --Indexes and database searching

Databases of UN documents and Indexes

If you have a UN document symbol (e.g., E/CN.15/2010/L.16), you can often find the document by searching the web using that document symbol.  Finding older and more obscure documents, however, may require more work.  To search UN documents by keywords, there are two main options:  the full-text database ODS; and the UN documents index UNBISnet.  

ODS has full-text documents, but only from about 1993-present.  Older documents are being added.  Unfortunately, ODS doesn't always capture documents produced by UN organs.  (Other indexes and databases of UN documents have the same problem.)  ODS allows keyword searching and other search options.

UNBISnet has coverage of older documents than ODS does; coverage begins in about 1979.  Links to full-text documents are often provided, but if they are not, try searching for the document on the web or in ODS. 

Both of these sources have UN resolutions back to 1946.