Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Relevant sections of the Constitution and Bill of Rights:
- Art. I, Sec. 8: "The Congress shall have Power To lay and collect Taxes, Duties, Imposts and Excises..." Also includes the Commerce Clause, which impacts taxation related to interstate and foreign commerce.
- Amend. XVI: "The Congress shall have power to lay and collect taxes on incomes, from whatever source derived, without apportionment among the several States, and without regard to any census or enumeration."
- Art. I, Sec. 7: "All Bills for raising Revenue shall originate in the House of Representatives..."
- Art. I, Sec. 2: Direct taxes should be apportioned by population.
- Art. I, Sec. 9: "No Tax or Duty shall be laid on Articles exported from any State."
- Art. I. Sec. 10: States are generally prohibited from taxing imports or exports without the consent of Congress.
U.S. Tax Code
Internal Revenue Code
From IRS.gov, links to the Cornell LII version of the Code. Includes Table of Contents, Section Number retrieval, and Full-Text search.
The vast majority of statutes related to income, estate and gift, excise, and employment taxes are contained in Title 26 of the U.S.C. This is generally referred to as the Internal Revenue Code. The current code was promulgated in 1986, though it has been amended many times since (and thus should be referred to as the "Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended"). It replaced two previous versions from the 1939 and 1954.
The Code is divided into subtitles, which are further divided into chapters and subchapters. Using these subtitles, chapters, etc. can be a good way to find relevant Code sections, as they are organized topically. Browsing the table of contents for the code can lead you to relevant provisions.
||Estate and Gift Taxes
||Misceallaneous Excise Taxes
||Alcohol, Tobacoo, and Certain Other Excise Taxes
||Procedure and Administration
||The Joint Committee on Taxation
||Financing of Presidential Election Campaigns
||Trust Fund Code
||Coal Industry Health Benefits
||Group Health Plan Requirements
This government website provides an easy to use version of the Federal Register. Each issue can be browsed and searched by type of notice, relevant agency, topic, and date. As well, the Unified Agendas for agencies can be browsed and searched. There is also a database of Executive Orders, and the site provides a lot of information explaining the rule-making process.
The Internal Revenue Code gives the Treasury Department the authority to make regulations related to the Code. The department issues three types of regulations: proposed, final, and temporary.
- Proposed regulations are published in the Federal Register daily, and the public is given a period to comment on the regulations before they move to their final version. Treasury Department proposed regulations are also reprinted in the Internal Revenue Bulletin (I.R.B.) which comes out weekly, and is compiled twice a year into the Culmulative Bulletin (C.B.).
- Final regulations are issued after the department takes comments on a proposed regulation into account. They are first published as Treasury Decisions, which have a four-digit citation such as T.D. 8597, as well as in the Federal Register. Final regulations are codified into the Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.), which is published yearly, and are given a citation referring to the Code section they address. For example, a regulation on Sec. 37 of the Internal Revenue Code is labeled as 1.37-2, where the 1 indicates that it is a Treasury regulation, 37 refers to the code section, and 2 indicates the regulation number.
- Temporary regulations are effective as soon as they are published in the Federal Register and are intended to provide immediate, short-term guidance on new tax statutes. They are also published as Treasury Decisions and codified in the Code of Federal Regulations.
Regulations.gov allows you to access new Rules and Notices from the Federal Register, as well as to comment on Proposed Rules. It also includes the Regulatory Agendas of each Federal agency (the lists of regulations that they plan to make). It can be searched by keyword, title, or document ID number.
Internal Revenue Bulletin
The IRS Guidance page contains links to the Internal Revenue Bulletin from 1995-present. Issues after 2003 are available in both .html and .pdf, while others are .pdf only. Bulletins are organized by date and are not internally searchable.
From IRS.gov. Links to FDsys (official version from the Government Printing Office). Includes a full text search function and an option to retrieve by citation.