Skip to main content

Pennsylvania Criminal Law Practice Resources: General Practice Guides

This guide reviews the primary and secondary resources available in the Legal Research Center's collection that deal with Pennsylvania Criminal Law.

Description of Resources

The Legal Research Center has print and electronic access to Pennsylvania general practice guides. Several of these guides include practice guidance on Pennsylvania criminal law and Pennsylvania criminal procedure.

Standard Pennsylvania Practice: Chapters 132 - 140

  • Provides detailed explanations of procedural issues, including references to cases, statutes, and court rules in its footnotes.
  • Doesn't cover criminal law
  • Published by West Group, available on WestlawNext
  • Call number for print version: KFP530 .S72
  • WestllawNext version includes table fo contents, keyword searching, and searchable index
  • Print version includes index

Dunlap-Hanna Pennsylvania Forms: Chapters 224 et seq.

  • Includes both analysis and forms.
  • Covers Pennsylvania criminal procedure but not Pennsylvania criminal law
  • Analysis not as extensive as other Pennsylvania practice guides.
  • Published by LexisNexis, available on Lexis Advance.
  • Call number for print version: KFP. M49 2001.
  • Print version includes index.

West's Pennsylvania Practice: Criminal Practice

  • Provides analysis of Pennsylvania criminal procedure from arrest stage to appeal stage.
  • Doesn't cover Pennsylvania criminal law
  • Includes chapter on practice in Philadelphia Municipal Court and Philadelphia Traffic Court.
  • Published by West Group, available on WestlawNext.
  • Call number for print version: KFP80.W47.
  • WestlawNext version includes index for criminal practice materials.
  • Print version includes index.