Skip to main content

Pennsylvania Criminal Law Practice Resources: Criminal Practice Guides

This guide reviews the primary and secondary resources available in the Legal Research Center's collection that deal with Pennsylvania Criminal Law.

Description of Resources

The Legal Research Center has print and electronic access to several practice guides that focus soley on criminal law and/or criminal procedure issues.

Pennsylvania Criminal Procedure: Elements, Analysis, & Application (2nd ed.)

  • Provides comprehensive review of Pennsylvania criminal procedure, from pre-trial issues to post-trial issues
  • CD provides sample forms
  • Includes chapters on Juvenile Court procedure and capital punishment
  • Index
  • Published by the Pennsylvania Bar Institute
  • Available only in print format
  • Call number: KFP575.Z9 P46 (2008)

Five County Criminal Practice

  • Provides county - specific criminal practice guidance for
    • Philadelphia County
    • Bucks County
    • Chester County
    • Delaware County
    • Montgomery County
  • Written by attorneys with practice experience in respective counties
  • Includes practice tips and sample forms
  • Published by the Pennsylvania Bar Institute
  • Available in print format only
  • Call Number: KFP.561.A75 F58 (2012)

Pennsylvania Criminal Trial Guide (4th ed.)

  • Provides guidance on trial procedure in Pennsylvania criminal courts
  • Covers pre-trial considerations through sentencing
  • Includes chapter on non-jury trials
  • Author: Robert L. Evangelista
  • Published by George T. Bisel Publishing Co.
  • Only available in print
  • Call Number: KFP579.E962a

Pennsylvania Bar Institute Continuing Legal Education Materials

  • Some materials provided to attorneys at the Pennsylvania Bar Institute's continuing legal education seminars can provide useful practice guidance
  • Some materials will include resources including checklists and sample forms
  • Available in print only
  • Titles include: