Skip to main content

Pennsylvania Civil Practice Resources: General Litigation

This guide reviews the different types of Pennsylvania civil practice resources available, and lists examples of each type of resource.

Description of Resources

There are several sets that provide guidance on the various types of litigation practiced in Pennsylvania courts, including:

  • Civil litigation
  • Criminal defense litigation
  • Family Court litigation
  • Orphans Court litigation

The sets vary in scope, content, organization, and level of treatment. Some sets with include explanations of procedures, some sets will include sample forms, and some sets will include both type of resources.

The LRC provides access to all the general litigation practice guides listed below in print and electronic formats. The print versions will include an index. The electronic versions generally don't include indexes, but they do allow keyword searching and table of contents browsing.

Standard Pennsylvania Practice

  • Published by West Group, available on Westlaw
  • Call number for print version: KFP530 .S72
  • Provides detailed explanations of procedural issues, including references to cases, statutes, and court rules in its footnotes.
  • Provides sample forms
  • WestllawNext version includes searchable index
  • Standard Westlaw version provides table of contents and keyword searching
  • Print version includes index

Goodrich Amram 2d Procedural Rules Service with Forms

  • Published by West Group, available on Westlaw.
  • Call number for print version: KFP530 .G6 1976
  • Concentrates on procedural matters under the Pennsylvania court rules.
  • Arranged according to state court rules
  • Very good resource for procedural guidance under the Pennsylvania court rules.
  • Reprints the text of the rule, and provides commentary and explanations about the rules.
  • Provides sample forms for many rules. For example, Pennsylvania court rule 2036 sets out the requirements for a valid affidavit by a minor. In Section 2036:2, Goodrich Amram includes a sample format for an affidavit by the minor that complies with the rule's requirements.
  • Print version includes index

Dunlap-Hanna Pennsylvania Forms

  • Published by Lexis, available on Lexis
  • Call number for print version: KFP. M49 2001
  • Includes both analysis and forms.
  • Analysis not as extensive as other Pennsylvania practice guides.
  • Set also includes transactional forms
  • Print version includes index

West's Pennsylvania Practice

  • Published by West Group, available on Westlaw
  • Call number for print version: KFP80.W47
  • Set contains analysis only, no forms
  • Companion set to West's Pennsylvania Forms (see below)
  • Includes sample trial handbook
  • WestlawNext version includes index for criminal practice materials and workers compensation practice materials
  • Standard Westlaw versions provides table of contents and keyword searching
  • Print version includes index

West's Pennsylvania Forms

  • Published by West Group, available on Westlaw
  • Call number for print version: KFP68 .W47 1992
  • Set contains forms and limited analysis
  • Companion set to West's Pennsylvania Practice (see above)
  • Includes both litigation forms and transactional forms
  • Print version includes index