Skip to main content

Pennsylvania Statutory Research: Print Options

This guide reviews the history and current status of the Pennsylvania statutory codification project, and lists electronic and print options for Pennsylvania statutory research.

Print Version of Purdon's Pennslyvania Statutes and Consolidated Statutes Annotated

West Group publishes the print Purdon's Pennsylvania Statutes and Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Annotated. As the title indicates, this set includes annotated versions of both the Pennsylvania Statutes and the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes. The set intermingles the two codes.

The Purdon's set includes an index that covers both codes. The entire index is republished every year.

It is important for researchers using the print Purdon's to check the pocket parts, Interim Annotation Service and the Advance Legislative Service provided with the set in order to obtain the most current information possible. The Interim Annotation Service includes annotations that were drafted after the current pocket parts were published. The Advance Legislative Service provides the text of laws that were passed after the current pocket parts were published.

Features - Print Purdon's

  • Includes both the Pennsylvania Statutes and the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes
  • Provides index that covers both codes
  • Researchers need to check pocket parts, Interim Annotation Service and Advance Legislative Service to find most current information

Drexel Library Catalog

Print Version of Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes

The Commonwealth publishes a print version of the current Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes. As this set isn't a comprehensive resource for current Pennsylvania statutory law, it is of limited use for legal research purposes.

Drexel Library Catalog

The print version of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is of limited use because it doesn't reflect all current Pennsylvania laws.