Skip to main content

Searching the Catalog: How Do I Find...

A guide to searching the Legal Research Center catalog, analyzing your results, and searching for specific types of resources.

How Do I Find...

A book (print or electronic)?

  • From the Legal Research Center main page, search for the Title, Author, or any part of the Title in the Catalog Search box.
  • For more precise searching, go to the Search the Catalog page and choose which type of search you'd like to do (Title, Author, Subject, etc.)
  • For print titles, once you've found the correct catalog entry, note the Location, the Call Number, and whether the item is available.
  • Electronic Resources will be labeled as such. Use the "Click for resource" link to access them.

An article in a journal (print or electronic)?

  • To find articles through the catalog, you will need to search for the journal the article is in, not the article itself.
  • From the Legal Research Center main page, search for the journal title or any part of the title in the Catalog Search box.
  • For more precise searching, go to the Search the Catalog page, choose "Journals (All)" from the dropdown menu, and search for the journal by Title.
  • For print journals, once you've found the correct catalog entry, note the Location and dates of the issues available.
  • E-journals will be labeled as "[electronic resource]". Use the "Click for resource" link to access them. You will be presented with a list of one or more databases that have the journal. Check the Availablilty to find a journal with appropriate coverage, then click Go.

A database?

  • You can find a list of all Law databases on our Databases page, accessible from the Legal Research Center main page.
  • A complete list of databases can be found on the Drexel Libraries' Databases/Article Indexes page. Here you can browse databases by subject, or an A-Z list.
  • Some of the most popular databases are listed on our Quick Links, on the left of each page.
  • You can also search the catalog for databases. From the LRC main page, search for the database name or any part of the name in the Catalog Search box.

Find a Westlaw or Lexis treatises, HeinOnline libraries, newsletters, and more?

  • You can also search our catalog for Westlaw and Lexis treatises, and many other federal and state materials available on the platforms. This can often be faster than finding the materials within Westlaw or Lexis, and allows you to browse by subject to find related materials.  If you know the title you can enter that, or just search for “Westlaw” or "Lexis" with other topical keywords (for example: “Pennsylvania civil procedure Westlaw”).
  • Our catalog also includes almost all libraries from HeinOnline, including Legal Classics, Session Laws, and U.S. Congressional Documents.
  • Among other items you will find in the catalog:
    • Newsletters from BNA.
    • Electronic U.S. government documents available on the Web.
    • Online legal encyclopedias